Feb 27, 2017

EPA to Host March 9th FREE Webinar on New Online Tool: Model My Watershed

EPA's Watershed Academy is pleased to sponsor the 92nd free Webcast Seminar on Thursday, March 9, 2017:

"Model My Watershed: A Tool for Water Resource Management"

Dr. Anthony Aufdenkampe, Senior Environmental Scientist, LimnoTech
Dr. Barry M. Evans, Senior Research Associate, Penn State University and Adjunct Faculty member at Stroud Water Research Center
Bill Brown, Chief, TMDL Development Section, PA Department of Environmental Protection

Join us for a Webcast on a new web-based tool called Model My Watershed. This tool is part of a larger web application called WikiWatershed that is being developed by the Stroud Water Research Center (see www.wikiwatershed.org). Model My Watershed is a user friendly, online watershed modeling Web application intended for use by citizens, conservation practitioners, municipal decision-makers, educators, students, and others. This tool enables users to:

  • Analyze nationally-available landscape, climate and other datasets in their neighborhoods and watersheds;
  • Model stormwater runoff and water quality impacts using professional-grade models; and
  • Compare how different conservation or development scenarios could modify runoff and water quality.

Model My Watershed allows users to learn how land use and soil together determine whether rainfall infiltrates into the soil, runs off into streams, or is evaporated and transpired by plants. This Internet tool is intended to provide an easy-to-use professional-grade modeling package to inform land use decisions, support conservation practices, and enhance watershed education.

The Webcast will provide background on the tool, will demonstrate the tool, and will highlight how this tool is being used by several states and others for their total maximum daily load, nonpoint source, and municipal stormwater programs.

Webcast participants are eligible to receive a certificate for their attendance. The Webcast presentations are posted in advance at http://www.epa.gov/watershedacademy/watershed-academy-webcast-seminars and participants are encouraged to download them prior to the Webcast.

2 hour audio Web broadcast
Eastern 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Central 12:00 pm – 2:00 pm Mountain 11:00 am – 1:00 pm Pacific 10:00 am – 12:00 pm

Local watershed organizations, municipal leaders and others are invited to sign up for these free, online webcast training sessions. Attendees must register in advance to participate in webcasts. During the webcasts, trainees log onto the web to participate in live training conducted by expert instructors. Your computer must have the capability of playing sound in order to attend the webcasts. The Watershed Academy offers a certificate to those who attend webcasts. Streaming audio versions of past webcasts are available.